What is a sugar cane?

Sugarcane refers to several species of tall perennial grasses, the stalks of which are rich in sucrose, or table sugar. It is grown in the tropical regions of India, Southeast Asia, New Guinea and parts of the United States. The plant is also grown for ethanol production in countries like Brazil.