What is a commodores?

A Commodore is a rank designation no longer used in the US Navy to identify someone with a rank of 1-Star. Above Captain, and below Rear Admiral. A 1-Star naval officer is now called a Rear Admiral Lower Half, and a 2-Star officer is now called a Rear Admiral Upper Half, or just Rear Admiral.