Is italian parsley and cilantro the same thing?

Short answer: No. Cilantro scientifically known as Coriandrum sativum, is an herb that belongs to the Apiaceae family. Italian parsley or flat-leaf parsley, is an herb variety of the parsley plant. It is a species of the Apiaceae family and Petroselinum neapolitanum is its scientific name.