Why do you sometimes have only one multiplication sentence for an array?

Because order is not important in multiplication, an array with unequal numbers of rows and columns will have two multiplication sentences, such as 5 times 3 equals 15 and 3 times 5 equals 15. If the array has equal numbers of rows and columns there is only one answer, such as 3 times 3 equals 9.