What is the master in the margarita?

The Master and the Margarita is a book written by Mikhail Bulgakov. The Master in the book refers to a writer who is plagued both by his own mental issues and the harsh political criticism faced by most Soviet writers in the Stalinist Soviet Union, during the 1930's