What major event happened in seventeen seventy six?

Seventeen Seventy Six is best known as the year that the Continental Congress of north america drafted, signed, and published the Declaration of Independence, laying groundwork for the American Revolutionary War.

---

The Declaration of Independence, 1776. By issuing the Declaration of Independence, adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, the 13 American colonies severed their political connections to Great Britain. The Declaration summarized the colonists' motivations for seeking independence.