Why is hello kitty called hello kitty?

Hello Kitty's name is not actually Hello Kitty. It is Kitty White. The name Kitty came from Lewis Carroll's Through the Looking-Glass; during a scene early in the book, Alice plays with a cat she calls Kitty.