How do you know if an avocado is right?

An avocado has a short period where it is ripe. A hard avocado is not ripe. You can put it in a brown paper bag on the counter and it will soften in 3-5 days. Gently squeeze the fruit- if it goes down a little, it is ripe. Once it is ripe, it will turn brown inside and spoil in 2 days.

---

There are a couple of ways. It should have a little give when squeezed. It will turn this greenish brown color. Lastly, remove the stem and make sure the inside is still a bright green.