What is the difference between a sled and a sleigh?

Both have runners, but a sled is smaller and typically used by children to slide down slopes. A sleigh is larger and typically pulled by horses.

---

Sleigh refers to a moderate to large-sized, usually open-topped vehicle to carry passengers or goods, and typically drawn by horses, dogs, or reindeer. In American usage sled remains the general term but often implies a smaller device, often for recreational use.