What is the base for chewing gum?

Chewing gum is composed of gum base, sweeteners, softeners/plasticizers, flavors, colors, and a hard or powdered polyol coating. Although considered a trade secret, synthetic polymer polyvinyl acetate is regularly used in chewing gum bases. It makes up almost 60% of the gum base.