What happened to marvin gaye's father?

Marvin Gaye, senior was convicted of voluntary man-slaughter and given a six-year suspended prison sentence. He later died of pneumonia in 1998, 14 years after he killed his legendary son during an argument.

---

He ended up in prison for killing Marvin Gaye. Marvin Gaye died while protecting his mother from his father when the father shot him