What was the first colony of the united states?

The first colony was founded at Jamestown, Virginia, in 1607.

---

The 1st colony was at Jamestown, Virginia, in 1607. Many people who settled in the New World came to escape religious persecution. The Pilgrims, founders of Plymouth, Massachusetts, arrived in 1620. In both Virginia and Massachusetts, colonists flourished with assistance from Native Americans.