What are the five layers of soil?

Soils typically have six horizons. From the top down, they are Horizon O,A, E, B, C and R. Each horizon has certain characteristics. The O horizon, for example, is the top, organic layer of soil, made up mostly of leaf litter and humus (decomposed organic matter).