What is a paul bearer?

A pallbearer is one of several funeral participants who helps carry the casket of a deceased person from a religious or memorial service or viewing either directly to a cemetery or mausoleum, or to and from the hearse which carries the coffin. A pall is the heavy cloth that is draped over a coffin.