Does putting salt in water help it boil faster?

Short answer is no. At sea level pure water boils at 211.96 deg. F. Putting salt into water actually makes the water boil at a slightly higher temperature which would take longer if the conditions remained the same. A covered pot boils quicker than than an uncovered pot.