How does the hue light bulb work?

Philips Hue is a family of light bulbs that can be controlled using the Zigbee wireless protocol. Depending on the specific bulb, power-on, intensity, white scale or spectrum can be controlled directly by the Philips Hub and app, or directly or indirectly by smart home systems.