How do you tell the difference between a male cat in a female cat?

A male will have a much greater distance between the genitals and anus than females — half inch apart on a male kitten or over 1 inch apart on a male adult cat. Conversely, if the two are almost adjacent on a kitten or less than half inch apart on an adult, it's a female.