What is ford ford?

A ford is a shallow place with good footing in a river or stream where it is possible to cross from one bank to the other with no bridge, by walking, riding, or driving through the water. A fjord is a long, narrow inlet with steep sides or cliffs, created by the wearing away of glaciers.