What's the difference between poaching and boiling?

Poaching is a culinary technique that involves cooking something in liquid with a temperature ranging from 140 F to 180 F. This compares with boiling, which happens at 212 F, and simmering, in which food is immersed in a cooking liquid with a temperature in the range between 180 F and 205 F.