How do you know it's clay?

If the soil falls apart when you open your hand, then you have sandy soil and clay is not the issue. If the soil stays clumped together and then falls apart when you prod it, then your soil is in good condition. If the soil stays clumped and doesn't fall apart when prodded, then you have clay soil.