What is the wind gus?

It probably is supposed to be "wind gust." A wind gust is a short blast of wind which doesn't last very long but is stronger than the wind just before it. Usage: The wind was about 40 miles per hour for most of the afternoon, but occasionally there were gusts up to 50 mph.