How does bulbasaur talk?

Number one on the list of all Pokémon discovered so far, Bulbasaur is a combination of plant and animal. It appears to be some sort of frog with a budding leaf attached to its back. As it evolves, the creature becomes more fearsome and the plant blooms into an enormous flower in its final form.