What's the difference between cappuccino and espresso?

Espresso is generally thicker than other coffee, has more suspended and dissolved solids, and has crema on top. It is used as the base of other drinks like cappuccinos. A cappuccino is a combination of espresso, milk, and steamed milk foam, and flavored syrups can also be added as desired.