When did people start using pencils?

The ancient Romans used a thin rod made from led called a stylus to write on parchment. Graphite was first used around 15 64. The first mass-produced wood-cased pencils were made in Nuremberg Germany in 1662. William Monroe of Concord Connecticut made the first American pencils in 1812