What color was originally associated with saint patrick's day?

Green has long been associated with the Emerald Isle. In the 19th and 20th centuries, we saw an increasing division between British royalty, and the Irish people. Over time, green was adopted as the color of the Irish rebellion, and the shamrock became a key symbol.