What makes sour candy sour?

Citric acid is the most common thing in sour candy that makes it sour.

---

Most sour candy is made sour with citric acid.

---

Sour sanding, or sour sugar, is a food ingredient that is used to impart a sour flavor, made from citric or tartaric acid and sugar. It is used to coat sour candies such as lemon drops and Sour Patch Kids. Sour candies can cause tongue irritation and irreversible dental erosion.