Tell me about luke skywalker's lightsaber?

Luke Skywalker's original blue lightsaber, given to him by Obi Wan Kenobi, was made & originally wielded by his father Anakin Skywalker. However, after this lightsaber was lost when his hand was cut off by Darth Vader in Empire Strikes Back, he built himself a green lightsaber.