What is m. d. f. stand for?

Medium-density fibreboard (MDF) is an engineered wood product made by breaking down hardwood or softwood residuals into wood fibres, combining it with wax and a resin binder, and forming it into panels by applying high temperature and pressure. It is generally denser than plywood.