What was the london blitz?

The London Blitz was an intense bombing campaign undertaken by Nazi Germany against the United Kingdom during World War II. For eight months (September 7, 1940–May 11, 1941) the Luftwaffe dropped bombs on London and other strategic cities across Britain.