Is garlic salt the same thing as garlic powder?

No. Garlic salt and garlic powder are not the same. Garlic powder is dehydrated garlic and can be used to add garlic flavor to foods usually as a topping. Garlic salt is primarily salt with garlic flavoring or garlic powder mixed together.