When did the russians land on the moon?

USSR's Luna 2, impacted on the moon in 1959. This was not exactly a landing. in 1966 they accomplished the first soft landings and took the first pictures from the lunar surface during the Luna 9 and Luna 13 missions. The soviets sent an unmanned craft which landed on the moon and returned, in 1970.