Who led the american war of independence?

Historians generally recognize prominent leaders such as George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and Alexander Hamilton. Many others took part such as the French aristocrat, Lafayette who served as a major-general in the Continental Army under Washington.