How do you cook red beans and rice?

The red beans are first soaked in water for 8 hours or more, then combined with other flavorful ingredients that are cooked separately, such as Tasso ham, bacon, sausage, ham hocks, onions, celery, garlic, parsley and spices like cayenne, and finally served over rice and garnished with green onions.