What does metastasize mean?

Definition of metastasize verb (used without object), me·tas·ta·sized, me·tas·ta·siz·ing. Pathology. (of malignant cells or disease-producing organisms) to spread to other parts of the body by way of the blood or lymphatic vessels or membranous surfaces.