How does a bee become a queen bee?

A young larva is fed special food called "royal jelly" by the worker bees. Royal jelly is richer than the food given to worker larvae, and is necessary for the larva to develop into a fertile queen bee. The larva is enclosed with a cell inside the hive, where it makes pupae and develops into a queen