What is dioxazine?

Winsor Violet (Dioxazine), made from PV23 (Pigment Violet 23), is a vivid purple pigment introduced into the Winsor & Newton range in the 1960s. Its strong mass tone is almost black and when diluted this colour reveals a paler soft violet.