What are hair bands?

Typically, hair bands were popular in the 1980's, the genre of music was mostly heavy metal or hard rock. The term hair bands came from the majority of the band members having long hair. some popular bands were the Scorpions, Iron Maiden, Ratt, and Skid Row.