What book is the father based on?

The Father is a 2020 psychological drama film directed by Florian Zeller, in his directorial debut; he co-wrote the screenplay with fellow playwright Christopher Hampton based on Zeller's 2012 play Le Père, which is part of a trilogy that also includes Le Fils and The Mother.