Why are restrooms called restrooms?

The term is believed to have originated from the large stores back in the early 1900s that had a small lounge in the restroom. The restroom was, a bathroom, and the lounge gave shoppers a chance to sit and rest. Thus people started calling them restrooms because it sounded nicer.