What is the difference between a.m. radio and f. m. radio?

The difference is in how the carrier wave is modulated, or altered. With AM, the amplitude, or overall strength, of the signal is varied to incorporate the sound information. With FM, the frequency (the number of times each second that the current changes direction) of the carrier signal is varied