How long do you cook chicken on the stove top?

For chicken to be safe for human consumption, it must be cooked until its internal temperature reaches 165 degrees Fahrenheit. This will take approximately 5 to 7 minutes per side in a skillet heated on medium-high heat. Therefore, chicken must be cooked approximately 14 minutes on the stovetop.

---

Pat the chicken dry and season with salt and pepper. Heat the oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet. Carefully add the chicken to the hot pan and cook for 5 to 7 minutes. Flip the chicken and cook until it reaches 165°F, 5 to 7 minutes more. Slice and serve.