What is a magnolia tree?

Magnolia trees are prized for their large magnificent tulip- or star-shaped flowers that perfume the balmy spring air with a sweet, heady fragrance. They range in color from pink, purple, white and even yellow. People use the bark & flower buds to make medicine.