When did christopher columbus set sail for america?

Columbus set sail from Palos, Spain on August 3, 1942.

---

On October 12, 1492, after 36 days of sailing westward across the Atlantic, Columbus and several crewmen set foot on an island in the present-day Bahamas, claiming it for Spain.