When was the star spangled banner composed?

The Star Spangled Banner was written in Baltimore by Francis Scott Key after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry by British ships of the Royal Navy in Baltimore Harbor during the Battle of Baltimore in the War of 1812.