What is pot ash?

Potash refers most commonly to potassium carbonate. The name pot ash refers to plant ashes soaked in water in a pot, which was the primary means of manufacturing the product before the Industrial Era. Potash has been used in fertilizer, bleaching textiles, making glass, ceramic, and making soap.