Who sang mama told me not to come?

Randy Newman wrote Mama Told Me Not To Come for Eric Burden in 1966. Cory Wells of Three Dog Night finally convinced the other members of the band to record and release their version of it in May of 1970, with him singing the lead. Tom Jones also released a version in 2000.