Why is cinnamon hot?

Cinnamon, the bark from cinamomum tree originated in Sri Lanka. Ancient Egypt used it for antiseptic properties. The chemical coumarin in cassia cinnamon may be an allergen, as is the cinnamaldehyde in derived oil. Cinnamon is in the class of ingredients with warming properties like capsaicin