Is a hurricane a cyclone?

Technically, they are the same, yes. Called hurricanes when they develop over the North Atlantic, central North Pacific, and eastern North Pacific, these storms are known as cyclones when they form over the South Pacific and Indian Ocean, and typhoons when they develop in the Northwest Pacific.