What type of ship is the u. s. s.?

USS and USNS are both ship prefixes used to identify United States vessels. USS stands for "United States Ship" and is always used to identify a commissioned United States Navy vessel, owned AND operated by the United States Navy. Meaning that the crew of the vessel is United States Navy sailors.