What's in onion?

High in vitamin C, onions are a good source of dietary fiber, and folic acid. They also contain calcium, iron, and have a high protein quality (ratio of mg amino acid per gram protein). Onions are low in sodium and contain no fat. Onions contain quercetin, a flavonoid antioxidant compound.